Lakeland Vision Committees

2023-2024 - Lakeland Vision Committees Age Friendly Lakeland:

  • Bringing new CNAs to our community by removing the financial barrier to obtain a state certification
  • Establishing and refining a Neighborhood Outreach program to encourage communication for needs and deliver resources for needs of our most vulnerable community population
  • Age Friendly Business Seal Implementation to bring awareness around older adults- Including Elder abuse, identify physical restrictions that older adults may have accessing their business, and offer access to local available resources in specific situations.
  • More information can be found at
  • Chair: Liz Craven/ Coordinator: Allie Bates

Community Unity:

  • Bring the community together through awareness and consideration of ALL citizens’ needs. Get to know your neighbor and work on ways to improve Lakeland through collaboration. 
  • Action items for Community Unity will be determined after community conversation data has been reviewed and common themes and trends are identified. 
  • Chair: Rick Maxey

LV + Lakeland Chamber of Commerce Joint Education Committee:

  • Identifying current resource gaps (for educators, parents, business owners, community members, etc.).

  • Connect stakeholders to education partners with clear goals, expectations, and processes.

  • Whole person focus (lifelong education) from early childhood to senior citizen programing.

  • Education communications with ALL Lakeland audiences relaying value of strong education options in our community

  • Chair: Dr. Leon Battle

Community Engagement:

  • Develop strategies to engage the community with the Vision

  • Identify ways to share goals within the Vision with specified audiences

  • Co-Chairs: Katherine Fitzwater & Ileana Kniss

The Cygnet Award Committee:

The Lakeland Vision Cygnet Award will be bestowed upon companies, organizations and individuals that strive to achieve our strategic goals in order to impact our community in positive and significant ways.


  • Chair: Brad Crenshaw